skip to Main Content

To learn more about COVID-19 in South Africa, visit


To complement our security services, we also install network and fibre optic backbones. Most security products rely on correctly installed IT infrastructure.

Copper Network Cabling

Category 5

Category 5 is most commonly used for 100 Mbit/s networks, such as 100BASE-TX Ethernet, although IEEE 802.3ab defines standards for 1000BASE-T – Gigabit Ethernet over category 5 cable. Cat 5 cable typically has three twists per inch of each twisted pair of 24 gauge copper wires within the cables.

Category 5e

Category 5e cable is an enhanced version of Cat 5 that adds specifications for far end crosstalk. It was formally defined in 2001 as the TIA/EIA-568-B standard, which no longer recognises the original Cat 5 specification. Although 1000BASE-T was designed for use with Cat 5 cable, the tighter specifications associated with Cat 5e cable and connectors make it an excellent choice for use with 1000BASE-T.

Category 6

Category 6 cable is a cable standard for Gigabit Ethernet and other network protocols that is backward compatible with the Category 5/5e and Category 3 cable standards. Cat-6 features more stringent specifications for crosstalk and system noise. The cable standard provides performance of up to 250 MHz and is suitable for 10BASE-T / 100BASE-TX and 1000BASE-T / 1000BASE-TX (Gigabit Ethernet). It is expected to suit the 10GBASE-T (10Gigabit Ethernet) standard.

Category 6a

Category 6a is the latest standard from the TIA for enhanced performance standards for twisted pair cable systems was defined in February 2008 in ANSI/TIA/EIA-568-B.2-10. Category 6a (or Augmented Category 6) operates at frequencies up to 500 MHz – twice that of Cat 6. Cat6a can support 10 Gbit/s applications.


Network Cabling - Syscontrol Secure
Network Cables
Network Cables And Switches
Network Cabling And Switches
Network Switches And Network Cables
Back To Top
×Close search